Who Knews And Some News!

First things first, who correctly guessed what I was staring at in the pigture below? Well only two furfriends guessed right because you all seem to think my mind is permanantly on my stomach! A wonderful winner whiffle goes to Dakota and to Dianda  who knew I was staring at another piggy, Buddy!

IMG_0723IMG_0722.

.

.

.

.

Now onto Nibbles’ News. Thank you for your kind words, I am ok. Unfortunately, Saturday, Mummy took me to the vets because my claws needed clipping and she was a bit worried about the way I was walking. Apparently I was hopping a little like a bunny rabbit!

Well the vet was surprisingly nice! He actually talked to me. When he felt my legs I jumped and winced and he knew exactly what was wrong.  I have the early stages of piggy arthritis. It’s not as bad as it sounds. Just a part of piggy old age.

Mummy launched into action and began questioning the vet. They had a long discussion about what was best. As I’m not really suffering they didn’t feel that I need medication just yet but I most likely will in the future, they even discussed doing a trial of some anti-inflammatories for a wheek to see if my bunny hop walk lessened.

When whee got home Mummy dashed to her forum friends to ask questions and searched the computermabob for more information. Well there really isn’t much out there regarding this. Mummy was surprised. Maybe I can become a helpful resource to other piggy parents? The best Mummy found was on Peter Gurney’s website – he is a piggy guru – on his page about old age! He has a suggestion of some hooman tablets which you can give to piggies called Potters Tabritis (see here –http://wheek.it/62cuc) Other suggestions range from accupuncture to water therapy, neither of which Mummy is to sure about until she has looked into it a bit more.

Mummy’s forum friends say not to let me get too cold so Mummy rushed out today and bought me a gift. It is called a snuggle safe heat pad and Mummy and me think it is great! All you do is put it in the microwave and then you have ten hours of warm snuggliness!

IMG_0801

Mummy heated it . . . .

IMG_0803

And tucked it in my bed where I loved it!

On my blanket covered heat pad!

On my blanket covered heat pad!

This is a bit of a learning curve from all of us. This does of course explain some of my more recent grumpiness so in a way it is a good thing I went to the vet, and I didn’t think I would be saying that!

Hope you are all having a good day and I can warmly (please forgive the pun, I couldn’t help myself!) recommend these snugglesafe heat pads for all animals as a great Winter warmer. They are pet safe and the perfect temperature. I just want to know why Mummy didn’t get one like this before!

Hope you have had an awesome day and are as excited about Pigmass as whee are! Whee put our decorations up today so whee will share those tomorrow.

Nibbles

xxxx

 

PS. Massive thank you cuddles to Miss Mollie and Alfie and their hooman for making this wonderful Pigmass pigture of us! Santa’s sleigh will never be late with us on the case!

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on December 9, 2012, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. Are these pads reusable? Pretty expensive if they’re not.

  2. I didn’t click “like” about your arthritis! I clicked “like” that your Mommy was so smart and sweet to buy you those pads. Sound like a wonderful idea! Yay for 2 of us knowing you were looking at a piggy!!! Pls feel better, if you lived by me you could snuggle into my fur. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Aw…..well, that warming pad sure does sound wonderful. Hope it helps with your aches and pains.
    Purrs, Sundae

  4. Hang tough, Nibbles. That heater pad looks like it’ll do the trick to keep you comfy. You’re in good hands. Your mum will take good care of you. xo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  5. Sorry about the arthritis 😦 That is not fun. However, loving the heat pad and want one doggy size!

  6. Me and Nellie were sorry to read about your arthritis. Hope you are feeling better. Mummy says she is thinking about getting heat pads for those silly rabbits and she is most interested in your experiences with them. Love Nellie and Jasper.

  7. that looks like it will help. hope you feel better!

  8. So sorry you aren’t feeling well! That nice heating pad seems like a wonderful consolation. Cocco would love that! Feel better!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  9. Glad to hear you’ll be ok. Good idea with the heating pad, that always makes my aches or pains feel a lot better. You look so cute modelling for us there on your blue blanket.

  10. We are sorry to hear of your arthritis dearest Niggles but you certainly have one of the best Mommy’s in the world – that heat pad looks great and it’s just the perfect size for you to snooze on.

    Hope you feel better soon.

    Licks & love,
    Wally & Sammy

  11. Heat pads are good for all aches and pains – you look super comfy on yours Nibbles! Good luck in finding out as much as you can about your condition. Knowledge is power 🙂

  12. How sweet of mum to buy you the warmable pillow. Stay warm and comfy. Have a marvelous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  13. Hey Nibbles, sorry to hear about your arthritis, but glad that you can keep warm. I’ve only seen flat boring heatpads for reptiles before, but your one looks super cosy!

    • It is! Mummy got it in pets at home and apparently it is suitable for all animals. If you encourage your hoomans towards the small furries sections next time they are round that way you may be able to convince them to get you a similar stocking filler!

      Nibbles
      xxxx

  14. Well that heating pad should feel VERY nice on your arthritic little legs Nibbles…..My Mom said she was going to look for something like that for me. We guys of a certain age need all the help we can get! Glad to hear that you’re OK though – that’s good news……Can’t wait to see your Pigmass decorations – very exciting!

    Holiday Hugs, Sammy

  15. A heating pad is a very good thing for pets with arthritis or older pets. I’m glad you are ok ;o) and I’m glad you have such a wonderful mom ;o)

  16. Sorry about your arthritis. Weee all love you and hope the heat pad continues to make you feel better. Snuggles, Daisy, Peaches, Cinnamon. xxxx

    • Thank you piggy furfriends. I have shared it with the other piggies and me and Nutty snuggled down on it together this evening. Maybe you should ask your hooman to buy one?” 😉

      Nibbles
      xxxx

  17. Oh boy, i think Suki and Hiro will love the snuggle safe too!
    Hope you won;’t be in too much pain, nibbles!

  18. Alfalfa has the same pad..he won’t use his. – KA

Squeak to us!!!

