Coping With The Loss of a Pet

Normally whee would come up with a different sort of post but today whee want to share with you a chat whee have been having within the comments on one of our most popular blog posts which is about dealing with grief in guinea pigs.

wpid-img_334670109606966.jpeg

This comment was a little different and really touched our Mummy as she has little hoomans brothers who are a similar age as the reader.

I am 13 and I lost one of my piggies yesterday and I am finding it really hard to cope and I am just crying all the time. Pleas can someone give me some tips how to get over my piggie teddy thanx

Whee had a long think about it before replying:

Losing a pet is never easy.

It can sometimes be hard for others to understand how much the loss of your pet may get to you and it is not uncommon to hear ‘it was only a guinea pig’ , ‘you can easily get another one’ etc. As with any loss it is important for you to have someone to talk to who understands how you are feeling and what the loss of your pet has meant to you. This could be a parent or guardian or a friend or school teacher. Whoever you feel comfortable speaking to.

However, just as when we lose a person we love they would ultimately want us to move on with our lives and be as happy as we can – it is the same for the pet we have lost – they too would want us to move on, be happy. Remember the good times and keep them in your heart. Don’t ever let anyone tell you it was just a piggy.

Please don’t feel alone, so many of us are out there who know what you are going through. You are welcome to comment here any time and we will get back to you as soon as we can.

I am so sorry for your loss and me and the boys are thinking of you at this sad time.

~ Amy

What advice would you give to someone dealing with losing a pet? For little hoomans it can be extremely upseting as for many it is their first bereavement. Loss is such a personal and difficult thing to deal with and it effects everyone in different ways. Whee have seen lots of sad posts about losing some blogosphere personalities from Angel Kitty Nylablue to Will and Eko’s brother’s Dog Dutch. How would you advise someone who has lost a much loved pet?

Though they may pass, they live on in our hearts and play in Summerland over the Rainbow Bridge.

Run free furfriends, whee will never forget you

In loving memory of Nugget, Bingo, Nibbles, Nutty, Nylablue, Mingflower, Dutch and all the other furfriends who have passed away.

Buddy, Basil, Nacho & Noah

xxxx

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on December 5, 2014, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. Indeed I find that I have to select whom I share my grief with as being told it was ‘just a’ cat dog sheep can make me so angry and hurt..so I share my pain with like minded people..loss like love is individual..it is a personal thing and grief needs to be at the individuals time and in their way..there is no right or wrong way to grieve.it is what it is..a heart break..and we always send our love to those who hurt as well all know how it feels..much loves Fozziemum and my angels.. Tammy,Charlie,Choko,Shaggy,Eich,Squash,Simba ,Merlin,Basil and Rosemary ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. You wrote a wonderful reply. And I hope it helps to cover the pain about the loss. Because at the end you lose a friend, no matter if it is a piggy or a cat or a dog… it was your friend and a part of your family. (I still remember the post of Lifeofbun, what this idiot-vet did with her poor little hamster was a no-go)

  3. You should be an expert. Nutty and Nibbles come to mind.

    • I don’t think you can ever become an expert at loss.

      It was over a year ago I lost them both but along with Nugget and Bingo (who passed away 4 and 3 years ago) I still feel an ache that I don’t think will ever leave me, that I cannot hold them again and shower them with all my love and never let them go

      You learn to live with it but I can’t say it ever stops hurting to remember them

      xxxx

  4. Well said. Our grief is as unique as each of us. Often what’s more important than trying to “fix” or “solve” the pain, is simply to offer support or comfort.

  5. we all deal with grief over losing a pet in different ways,me I go through a ritual…I make a coffin out of a box make it all pretty and put some of the pets favourite things in with my pet and have a proper funeral and burial in the garden,that way I say all of my goodbyes I cry a lot through the whole ritual pretty much non stop tears but once I have finished the funeral the tears stop ,then I clean everything and make ready for the next pet.I have done this with both of my previous Rabbits and my cat and they are all in the garden where they love to play and that is how I always remember them,I still cry and feel sad sometimes but it doesn’t last for long because those happy memories make me smile too,you never forget them but it does get easier to live with in time,but for my friends I just listen to them and just be there for them as much as I am able to be,xx Rachel

  6. I sadly get to know this year how it feels to lose a pet, a very beloved one… I still don’t know what to do with her things 😦

  7. Nicely said. We agree with Will and Eko support and comfort and knowing you are not alone is what matters. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  8. Well said…….it’s never easy losing a family member or friend or animal who we have loved……but it IS important to grieve for them. Holding in the pain and sadness just makes it hurt more. Moving on in your own time too – people will say “just move on” but you can’t until you’re ready. It’s great to have people who understand all of that and who can encourage you and empathize with you also. It’s a process that’s different for everyone.

    Hugs, Sammy and Mom Pam

  9. I did this once & it made me feel better. I taught elementary school & recommended it to some students & families who lost a pet.
    I just sat down & wrote my thoughts about my cat. The fun things I remember. The things he liked & didn’t like. Things like that. The times he was naughty. Where he came from. How old he was. They can write anything they think of. It could be a family project or just for the child. If it is a younger child s/he could draw some pics & an adult could write what the child says. Maybe staple pages together & make a book. Or add photographs.
    I found this made me remember the good things & took my mind off the loss.

  10. its ok to cry…you HAVE to…to get past it….in my lifetime…I saw my grandfather.. .. cry twice; once was when he had to have his rottweiler put to sleep. crying helps heal the heart, though it may not seem like it at the time, and once you’ve gotten past the crying; you will have happy, fun memories of teddy…that will stay with you forever. and no one can take that from you. teddy was loved, that’s why you cry… and he understands, and that’s all that matters ♥♥♥

  11. Your mummy is a very wise lady who, with her beautiful and heartfelt words, said just the right thing to that sweet child. It’s ok to cry, and then it’s ok to go on with the pawprints of that special pet forever on you heart.

  12. All I know is that I would completely fall apart if something ever happened to either of my sweet dogs. Life as I know it would change forever. It would be the biggest heartache ever. It’s hard to give someone advice after they have lost their pet, their best friend. I would just let them know that you are there for them if they need anything, or just a shoulder to cry on.

    • It is earth shaking and world changing to lose a pet. Nothing feels the same after it. Learning to cope with that loss is terrible. Whee are so glad this little girl felt she could come to us though and whee could be her shoulder to cry on so to speak

      xxxx

      • We all could use a shoulder to cry on every once in awhile, but what us bloggers know for sure, is that we are always there when someone needs kind words and love!

  13. I lost my guinea pig Tristan this summer. He was nearly 9 and was the first piggy I had as an adult. He was my best friend and I still miss him every day. Happily, I have lots of photos and videos of him so that helps a lot. Physically, they may be small but guinea pigs are such big characters it’s no wonder we miss them when they’re gone.

  14. I think you gave very good advice. It’s hard to loose a pet, because they are not just pets, they are both friends and family.

  15. My guinea pig passed away today, he was only 2 years old, but I am completely heartbroken. 😦

  16. Very thoughtful advice. Also, each loss can be felt differently.

  17. hello hutchizens its dennis the vizsla dog hay thoze wer verry nice wurds yore mama rote to yore nice reeder i am shoor they mayd her feel understud and i hope a littel bit better!!! loozing a pet is never eezy my dadas dada stil gits sad wen thinking abowt a pet rat wot went over the bridj menny yeerz ago and i no mama and dada stil miss my brother tucker and my sisters trouble and pooh bear!!! i gess it sez sumthing that all owr peepul no they ar going to hav to say gudbye to us animals much too soon yet they keep adopting us just the saym!!! ok bye

  18. This is really hard for me to read, as I am still grieving from losing my best friend Snuggles. My heart goes out to your 13 year old friend. You are absolutely right, her piggie would want her to move on and be happy. Some people at my work, were insensitive about my loses, they don’t understand. As far as I am concerned, so long as a little animal’s heart is beating, there is a life, any life is precious and should never been pushed aside as being less worthy than a human or other life. A life is a life, after all.

    Snow is still on antibiotics from her mouth operation, and still being looked after by my mum. She had a set back and stopped eating last weekend from a tooth problem, the vet injected her and she is doing well again now. She will be on meds until at least Christmas and so will stay with my mum. I have just finished working 10 days on the trot, because I had my staff induction for the NHS, on my two days off from my main day job this week. I have written a post about it and it has Snow’s YouTube debut, at her birthday present opening.Tell me what you think https://quirkybooks.wordpress.com/2014/12/07/guinea-pig-snow-birthday-party-present-opening/

    • People being insensitive can make the loss even harder to deal with so I really feel for you there. Big or small, they are still a life that was a big part of your own.

      I will hop on over and have a look now

      xxxx

      • Thanks. I feel so very sad for that 13 year old girl, who has had her piggie for 9 years. Snuggles was just 3 and the loss is huge. Still miss her and love her to bits. I think it’s worse because I came back from Disneyland and didn’t know she was so poorly. Even though my mum was syringe feeding her for a month, it seem all of a sudden that everything was happening with her. It was probably made worse by the loss of Cinnamon, only the week before my holiday.

  19. **wiping tears from my eyes**
    This was a lovely posting & I am so honored you mentioned Nylablue. Altho’ we all knew she was on ‘borrowed time’ which became “borrowed’ borrowed time I thought we had MORE time together. I made her last week of life as peaceful as possible & tried to be brave when letting her go with Dr. Dave’s help. I felt as much sadness & loss as when Mingflower died 8 1/2 yrs ago. These 2 girls were so much a part of me. All I can share is what I did: I cried when I had to. I shouted when I had to. I slept when I had to. I cleaned the entire flat & did laundry & kept occupied. I decided to wait til Spring to find a ‘new girl’……
    As of Dec. 9th I have been fostering a 5 month old Burmese kitten named Prince Siddhartha
    (Dharth for short). As of Dec. 13th I have officially adopted him. The ‘girls’ sent him to me. I really never thought I would be able to open my heart so soon.
    Does Siddhartha ‘replace’ Nylablue? Of course not. He does however give me love & snuggles & makes me laugh with his funny antics. He is helping with my loss & healing me little by little.
    Love you all, Sherri-Ellen & “Angel” Nylablue & Prince Siddhartha ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Whee would love to take this opportunity to welcome little Dharth to the blogosphere family. Of course he doesn’t replace angel Nylablue but whee are sure he was sent by the girls to comfort you and be there for you this Christmas ^_^

      A little Pigmas miracle kitty 🙂

      xxxx

  20. Ahh thank you G-Piggies…Dharth will attempt his 1st full blog this coming Saturday…fingers & paws crossed!!!
    Siddhartha is definitely a Pigmas miracle kitty 😉
    Love Sherri-Ellen x0x0

  21. Me too…he has so much to learn…but we can help him…

  22. My wee guinea pig flash passed away last Saturday 14/2/14 in my arms with an infection. I’m finding it hard. What should I use to clean his toys,food bowl, and water bottles. Also how long should I leave it to get another guinea pig. Also is it ok to use the same cage n that for the next guinea pig n should I get another baby or a bigger one.

    • So sorry for your loss. I would recommend using a strong pet safe disinfectant to clean everything and get a new one when you are ready. It’s not an easy thing to do but it is best for your piggy to get a friend sooner rather than later
      I’d get a baby unless you have a rescue or centre that can help you with bonding as that can be a little difficult for those who have never done it before

      Hope this helps

  23. Ive had guinea pigs for 4 years I bought a white girl pig and 3 weeks later I bought a black pig boy they have grown up together for the last four years i lost my little girl piggy last nite she died in my arms and my black one was beside her on my lap she had a surgery and it was too tough on her they were the coolest pigs ever she died in my arms and he gave her a nose sniff right after she died. I know pigs aren’t human and they do grieve my little black one is so lost and im with him I love my pigs ill never be able to replace her but I cant stand to watch my only pig not eat or drink, im going to get another girl piggy I hope im doing whats best for him. So if someone ever says its just a pig they better step back out of my reach, they were and are like my kids and they have the greatest personality and I sure smile. R.I.P. Chipmunk I am glad u dont suffer and i sure hope you are happy in guinea pig heaven.

  24. Lost my male GPS this morning he was 8years old. Yesterday enjoying the sun this morning he passed away.miss him so does his mate gravy been together all their lives.gravy not eating and very depressed how can I help him. Regards gp owner

    • Hi Lynn, apologies for the late reply,, you got caught up in my spam filter!

      So sorry to hear about your loss. My best advice would probably be to consider a friend for your piggy.

      Alternatively try to spend as much time as possible with your piggy. They need you when they are grieving too.

      I hope this helps

      xxxx

Squeak to us!!!

