Noah’s Nose Knows

IMG_0669

My nose is a furry thing of beauty according to my hooman. She often says “look at your ickle nosey” (Hey, I never said she was sensible!)

Anyway, I have decided to make this post all about noses in honour of my own lovely one.

Did you know that whee guinea pigs have a better sense of smell than you hoomans but not quite the level of a dog. It is often remarked as being somewhere between the two.

It’s instinct for us to smell everything whee come across in order to determine if it is safe or dangerous. That is why whee spend some time looking at and sniffing new veggies when whee could be eating them!

Whee also use scent to recognise and communicate with others. One example would be using our scent glands to mark our territory and tell other piggies to keep back.

Whee always say that hoomans shouldn’t wear perfumes or strongly scented things as they interfere with our understanding of the hooman and also with our ability to recognise you.

Luckily Mummy doesn’t much like those fancy stink sprays so whee are alright. However she has a cucumber moisturiser which whee love sniffing on her!

What’s your favourite smell?

Have a great Tuesday efurryone

Noah
xxxx

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on April 15, 2014, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. I agree with you, that smelly things in a bottle what humans use sometimes, is not good for our noses. I like the smell of rotten things, imagine a perfume with rottenoysters, taht would be great :o)

  2. What a cutie nose indeed..and of course your nose is very important….the pups smell Fozziedad all over if he comes home after travelling on a train or plane…he says he hsanlt been near any doggies..but he may sit where someone else has who does have a doggie…very special talent sniffing…and Forrest is a master!! his nose is amazing and he would have made a brilliant sniffer dog…hugs Fozziemum xxx

  3. Ahhh….the nose knows! Cucumber probably IS a small you boys like……..I can smell shrimp when Mom’s making it and I come running from anywhere in the house to ask for a taste. I also quite like her handcream…..it tastes yummy (not cucumber though!).

    Hugs, Sammy

  4. You have a smart nose, N. I also love moisturizer of any scent and try to lick it off Mom, which she says is disgusting. That’s a good thing…? Right…?

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  5. BOL BOL cucumber moisturiser. Well the nose knows. Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  6. Woof sorry I can not squeak I have a squeak toy.. To be honest If you were in my house I would see if I could get you to squeak.. Woof woof my nose is better than your nose!

  7. Thanks for the info! Mom better watch it, you may want to start tasting the cucumber moisturizer!
    Marty

  8. My favorite smell is DINNER.

  9. Cuuuuwoooowoooooootsie nosie!

  10. My mom doesn’t wear too much of that stuff, but she likes it when we smell like her because we were snuggling with her.

  11. Us doggies love to sniff everything! Especially other doggies bottoms! (Yuk)

  12. Awwww, Noah, you do have quite the cute nose, and I love the thought of little piggies snuggling up to your mummy to enjoy her cucumber moisturizer. Maybe my mommy could get some banana moisturizer. I love the smell (and taste) of bananas.

  13. SUSAN, SID, AND SHELBY WEINSTEIN

    My best friend used to wear Happy. I loved it after she had the dogs in her lap. They smelled of Happy.

  14. Food smells are the best:-)

  15. Your widdle nose is really cute close up…I wish mine was. Smart to be safe and sniff everything before you munch on it. My favourite smells is probably puppies fur and the grass after it’s rained. I also like the smell of a bakery but do my best not to be lured in to one.

  16. Yow Noah yer Mum smellz like cuecumburr…mmmmm….guud!
    me Mum hardlee eber wearz dat stinky stuff butt when she doez she wearz Jovan Musk fer Men (phankz Mum fer helpin wif spellin).
    Mum just spritzez a teeny bit n she smellz furry nice….
    When Mum iz in bad pain she usez a Anallgesick rub n den she smellz like wintergreen which iz bery strong at ferst butt after sum minuttz she smellz kinda like a forest tree 😉
    Mum sayz me smellz iike fresh laundured sheetz….
    Me finkz dat iz guud???
    Lub Nylablue =^,,^=

  17. I love the aroma of wild boar!

Squeak to us!!!

