Going In The Garden

Hello efurryone.ย This is my very first post just by me. *waves* Nice to see you all.

I’ve been a little shy as I settle in so Mummy didn’t want to crowd me with cameras. Now I’m much calmer and I have a story to tell you! Yesterday evening the weather was perfect and Mummy decided it was just right for me to have my first ever run in the garden! She was very busy pulling all these boxes and things out of the box near my cage and I was a little nervous. Nacho told me how much fun it is out there but I wasn’t so sure.

Uncle Buddy and Uncle Basil went out first, they were squeaking with excitement. Then Nacho went out and it was just me left. I sat on top of the pigloo waiting nervously. Mummy came and picked me up, promising lots of fun. Whee walked through the house and I tried to pretend I wasn’t scared by hiding in Mummy’s hair. All of a sudden whee were outside. There were lots of smells and sounds and it was a bit overwhelming for a little chap like me. Then Mummy sat down and moved me down to her lap. Nacho squeaked and I looked around. So this was outside.

A big cage with convertible roof, retracted to allow more light. A big blue tent with a fluffy snuggle blanket. Two cardboard castles boxes. And a big pile of green stuff that Nacho was currently scoffing. I sat there, very still for all of five seconds then jumped off Mummy’s knee with an indignant squeak of “Wait for me!” to Nacho.

The green spaghetti was grass and it was delicious. As it was my first time having any, Mummy restricted how much whee had so I didn’t overload my system. Nacho was not pleased and squeaked at the hooman for more most of the time whee were out there! The smells and sounds are fascinating and I don’t know why I was scared now! Mummy giggled when a bird called overhead and I started squeaking back to it and climbing the sides of the run. Here are some pigtures of my fun time outdoors:

Have you ever faced a fear and wished you had done it sooner?

Happy Thursday

Noah

xxxx

ps. Please join us in lighting a candle to raise awareness of pets in shelters and rescues all over the world.

Though their focus appears to be cats and dogs, there are lots of little guinea pigs out there too who need loving homes. Visit here to see more.

Light a candle for rescue pets and above all, if you are looking for an addition to your furmily. Think rescue

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on September 26, 2013, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 65 Comments.

  1. That’s like paradise for piggies.

  2. Good job, Noah. You were very brave. I am afraid of outside every single day. I always check out the window first to see if anything is out there to be scared of. Most days, there’s nothing, and I run to get my leash on, but if I see something I try to hide in the bedroom.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Awww I am trying to be braver. I don’t much like the postie-man. The noise the post makes scares me so I always run and hide and Mummy has to talk really quietly to me, till I calm down.

      I guess whee have to learn to be brave sometimes

      Noah
      xxxx

  3. So pleased that you had fun, I am sure you will only grow in confidence! Love the idea of you trying to talk bird!

  4. What fun that must have been for you, Noah! Now you won’t be afraid any more, and will look forward to your outside time.

  5. Great to see you out there wondering what the fuss was about dear Noah!

  6. Hehehe I was abit nervous the first time out side but I soon got used to it Noah,xx Speedy

  7. We know you will settle in well and grow in confidence. Have a tremendous Thursday.
    Best wishes Molly

  8. That is very exciting that you enjoyed being outside. That green spaghetti is yummy to eat. Glad you had a good time. Take care.

  9. You are such an intrepid explorer!! Noah you must be so happy to have been out and about with green spaghetti and fresh air ๐Ÿ™‚ you are settling in so well and the pigtures are great ๐Ÿ™‚ .We also have a candle burning tonight in our loungeroom for all creatures…all not just doggies and kitties but small companion pets,horses,sheep etc…have a great day sweet Noah ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs Fozziemum xx

    • Mummy has a big candle burning in the kitchen. She didn’t want it near us in the living room, in case whee didn’t like the smoke or smell. She says she likes the candle because it is chocolate scented. Whee wonder when they will make a carrot scented one?! ^_^

      Have a lovely day

      Noah
      xxxx

      • Perhaps you should suggest that to the candle people Noah..mine is called Angels whisper and it smells lovely…it’s glowing brightly right now ๐Ÿ™‚ You Have a great day as mine is nearly over Hugs Fozziemum xx

  10. Oh how fun, were you scared by the bird at all?

  11. That’s aperfect place for you Noah. Even the Beatles renamed their song in “OctoPIGGIES-Garden”

  12. Ask your mum to pig you up and take you out more often.

  13. Oh you will have such fun exploring the garden, enjoy it while you can, winter is on its way BOL xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  14. You are a nice looking guinea pig.

  15. Looks like the first time exploring the garden went well!

  16. Oh wow – those pictures are pigawesome my friend. Have I ever faced a fear. Yes I have. I *finally* went outside into nature not too long ago myself. It was not a bad experience at all. I kind of enjoyed it. XOXO – Bacon

  17. Noah is cute and reminds me of my Cookiebear when it comes to him jumping and all that cute stuff.

  18. Good for you Noah! You’ve had your first outdoor adventure – now you know why the other piggies love doing that and eating some grass and getting some fresh air! We think you are quite handsome with your swirls and ruffles and you and Nacho make a nice piggy pair and appear to be best friends. I had a fear of humans that I didn’t know so when someone “new” would come to our house I’d run to the basement – in the last year or so I’ve been getting brave and will peek out the basement door at people and have even come OUT of the basement a time or two to meet people. I wish I’d been brave before because humans (the ones I know anyway) are quite nice!!

    Kitty hugs, Sammy

    • Facing our fears is a good thing because whee find out they aren’t so bad afterall. New things are scary to us little pets but whee are getting braver and as whee do, whee are finding lots of fun things to do

      Noah
      xxxx

  19. There is a monster at my sister’s house.

    She makes terrible noises. She grabs — and pulls — fur. She once tried to put baby Frederick in her mouth.

    The other week I had Rose (one of my sister’s piggies) out to have her claws clipped. When Grammy and the “Eliza” monster walked in the door (they had gone for a walk, it was nearly the monster’s bedtime), Rosie got so scared she just froze and peed all over me. Poor Rose and Daisy (and Watson too). The fear in that house — and the monster — aren’t likely to go away soon.

    My niece will be nine months old in a few weeks, and is a delight, mostly, unless you are a guinea pig…

    • Hahaha whee had a little baby hooman over but Mummy said she couldn’t meet me because I’d get to scared but she met Buddy because he is the most good natured of us and sat still while she learned how to stroke nicely. He even licked her fingers when she wanted to look at his teeth. Some piggies would have bitten her or been scared but Buddy has always liked baby hoomans.

      Noah
      xxxx

      • Rule in my herd is that the black pigs don’t like kids, but the brown ones do. If you’re a calm grown-up though? Frederick will cuddle forever.

  20. Oh Noah, what a fun new adventure! Woooooowoooooooo!

  21. da tabbies o trout towne

    noah…we R knot a loud outside sew we wood be scared two…but glad ya getted over yur feer N WAY happee ya finded sum grass…even uz catz love de green stuff !!! we haza feer oh de vacuum that frank lee we dont think we iz ever gonna get rid of !!! hay, hope everee one haza grate week oh end !!

  22. MollySue and Annabelle say y
    Our Mommy is lighting a candle for all of the wonderful shelter animals and we came from ou are so brave and it sounds like os much fun. We have a new indoor maze r\to run through now and we love it.
    Our Mommy is lighting a candle for all of the shelter animals and we both came from a rescue.

  23. I see part of our post didn’t come through cause our Mommy didn”t have her coffee yet and is not quite awake.
    We said you were so brave to go out into the garden for your first time and looks like you all had fun.

  24. Noah, u iz a bery brave boy. We iz so happy that evfurry thing iz working out for you. You found the purrrfect forever home. We iz glad u liked the green spaghetti. Love Cali, Andy, Tater and Shelly (C.A.T.S.)

  25. Oh Noah you are so brave. Glad you got over your fear.

  26. Well done Noah!! High Five Paw!! You are one brave piggie!!
    Wally & Sammy

  27. princess guinea and ariel

    noah is so cute!! such a nice little face

  28. NOAH!!! NOAH!!! pawsum post little G-Piggie n we fink da pigturez are pawfect of ya goin out to da Condo…now DAT IZ a BIG condo n a tent too?? MEOW dat IS sunm castle!!! Me n Mum iz thrilled ya enjoyed yer ferst adventure out into da werld n we hope ya haz many more to come.
    Lub Nylablue n Sherriellen
    Pee Ess: We lit a candle fer Aunti Mingflower, Mum’z kitteh befur me. she was da reesult of puppy mill breedin n had sum prublemz n Mum lubbed her n helped her fer 18 1/2 yearz….
    N me waz a breedin Queen in a puppy mill too so me iz xtra gratefull Mum rescued me too!

  29. You have the best little buddy to share the outside with. So happy you had fun! I was scared at one time to live alone, but it turned out ok and I should have done it sooner ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Living alone is scary. Nacho told me how he had to live on his own for two wheeks before I came along. He was very sad and scared. Whee think you were brave to live on your own

      Noah
      xxxx

Squeak to us!!!

