Heavy Hearts, Heartbroken In The Hutch

It is with a heavy heart whee reveal some very sad news whee have not been able to tell you for a few days. (Due to one of the little hoomans being away and whee wanted to wait until he was home to tell him)

Nibbles, at the proud age of 7, became very ill at 3:45 on Monday 1st July. Despite our hoomans best efforts and the kindness of a neighbour who drove them to the vets as soon as they could, whee made the heartbreaking decision to let him go to sleep. Nibbles left for the rainbow bridge at 4:30. Here are some of our favourite pigtures of him:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Whee would very much appreciate it if you would take a moment to click here and light one of the candles in his group to remember him.

There’s not much more whee can say, other than, Nibbles, you were the sweetest, funniest little piggy and Mummy’s very first piggy. Without you whee others would not be here.

Run free over that rainbow bridge sweet baby.

Nutty, Buddy & Basil

xxxx

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on July 5, 2013, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 114 Comments.

  1. Oh, I am so very, very sorry. Sending all of you hugs as you grieve for sweet Nibbles.
    Love, Dianna and Sundae kitty

  2. Awww we are so sorry to hear about Nibbles.. Sending you lots of love and hugs xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. I am so sorry for your loss! You created such a beautiful tribute to Nibbles with the option for us to light a candle in Nibbles’ honor! He will never be forgotten!
    Love, Taylor and Jessica

  4. oh no…this is just awful news. We are so sorry to hear this. Your memorial is just beautiful. Sending you love and ((((hugs))))

  5. We are so sorry for your loss.

  6. Oh boys I’m so sorry for your loss. Nibbles will be sorely missed. Mum and I have lit a candle for him. We’re thinking of you. Bisous Bailey

  7. No smiles from me today. Just tears. Rest In Peace Nibbles. I loved you.
    Thank you for all the pictures of him. He was a good piggie for sure.

  8. I’m so sorry to read this. Sending you all lots of love xx

  9. We are so very, very sad & sorry to hear this. We ate thinking of you. Run free dearest Nibble xxx

  10. So sorry! Not that it matters, but 7 is old for one of your kind, isn’t it? Hopefully Nibbles is running free eating salad like crazy.

    • 7 is a very good age. Typically piggies reach 5 or 6 but whee have known of some who reached 9.

      At least whee have 7 years of wonderful memories to look back on.

      xxxxx

  11. Oh no! So sad to hear. Bye bye little Nibble

  12. Mummy and me is so sorrythat you guys have lost Nibbles*sniffles*we shall miss him very much!Hugs,kisses and nosebonks and snuggles from mummy and me,xx Speedy and mum

  13. I’m so sorry to hear about Nibbles. It’s never easy losing a fur friend. Send you all lots of XOs.

  14. We don’t know what to say other than our hearts ache as yours do….Nibbles was our very first piggy friend and we’ll always appreciate that he showed us the lovely world of guinea pigs – their sweet nature, darling ways, dear little faces and obvious joy in just being themselves. Please know we are hold all of you in our hearts…..we happily lit a candle for him.

    Love and Hugs, Sammy and his Mom Pam

  15. Oh, blessings to you and yours during this time of sadness…sweet little Nibbles…we know will be greatly missed…We send hugs, love and healing…Bless you…

  16. This is the hardest part. Blessings and hugs to you all.

    • Thank you. It is the part every pet owner never wants to come. The hardest part was deciding that whee would let him go off to sleep instead of suffer on any longer.

      xxxx

  17. I’m so sorry. They stay with us in our thoughts and hearts. Sending hugs in hopes in will fill up that raw spot just a bit.

  18. I am so sorry that you have to go through this. I know Nibbles was very much loved and he will be missed. I lit a candle to say good bye and I pray your mom and the rest of you to find comfort in this time of heavy hearts. 😦
    Love and hugs
    Carma Poodale

  19. RIP Nibbles. You were a cutie.

  20. This is what I wrote on my candle for Nibbles.
    “Nibbles, I am heartbroken that you are gone & feel love in my heart for such a beautiful pig. I wish you much happiness & love over the rainbow bridge. Lovexx
    β€” Sandra Bellamyquirkybooks from United Kingdom”

    I am grief stricken right now. I find it so hard to deal with any piggy passing as I think they are the bestest friend anyone could wish for. 7 is a great age – Goes to show all the care that you gave Nibbles has given him such a great life. I wish I could hug you right now, I am so upset so can’t imagine what you are going through. I think it’s very brave of you to keep posting under such difficult circumstances.

    Peaches, Daisy, Cinnamon and Snuggles send nose rubs to Nibbles and will miss him. Wheeks, furry hugs and much love. xxxx

    • Thank you for understanding and your kind words. I have taken a few days to post this and had to continue with other posts so my brother wouldn’t notice anything was wrong before he got home and we could tell him.

      I miss him terribly. I just try to throw myself into other things to distract myself but he has been so much a part of my life for so long everything seems to remind me of him. From the moment when we brought him home as that little baby aged just 6 weeks. With his ragged ears and being the runt of the litter he was never anything less that perfect in my eyes.

      He was the sweetest, most gentle and funny little boy and I miss him so much.

      Hopefully I will soon be able to look back fondly on those memories of him but for now I miss him too much.

      xxxx

  21. Awwww sweet little guuuy… I remember losing my hamsters, it’s not easy. Especially when they get sick, you just want to help but you can’t.
    Thankfully he had SUCH a good life thanks to you, and friends as well! I’ll go light a whee candle. πŸ™‚

  22. I’m so sorry. I’ve learned so much about guinea pigs from your blog and to think that Nibbles, as your first guinea pig, was the start of all of this: bringing love and laughter to you and your family, teaching others about guinea pigs, and your own rescue efforts and education. Thank you Nibbles for everything – and to Nibbles hooman mummy and family, may your sorrow eventually be replaced by warm memories of Nibbles.
    In sorrow, sandy

  23. We are so sorry to hear about Nibbles. We now share a day of sadness:( We want to thank you for your kindness to us especially in light of your own loss.

    We want to thank you so very much for your kind words of comfort and friendship after our very sudden loss of Thunder. We are all still very sad, but the support and love from all of our friends from all over the world is helping to heal our broken hearts. We are sure that Thunder Dunder is now in a very happy place and also very thankful to have so many wonderful friends.

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, Lightning, and Mom Kathie

    • Whee know just how you are feeling. It is the most horrible thing to lose a pet and so whee had to leave a few lines.

      Hugs to you and whee are sure Nibbles and Thunder are playing happily over that rainbow bridge and with all the other sadly passed away pets.

      xxxx

  24. So very sorry. Sending love. 😦 life is never the same after a piggie travels to the rainbow bridge.

  25. This situation is dispigable! What is the life expectancy of a pig? I’ll be 11 this month and we don’t go much beyond 12.

    • We went through this in October with Kenzie (RIP). It helped me and everyone here a lot to get Kaci. Do yourself a favo(u)r-don’t think about it, just get a pig who really, really needs a home. It’s the best way to hono(u)r Nibbles-helping one of his kind. He would want that.

      • That’s the plan. Whee are trying to be brave and checking rescues to try to find a piggy in need. Whee just want Nutty to be happy and not lonely.

        Typically guinea pigs live 5-7 years with the majority being 5 or 6. So 7 is a good age and whee take comfort from that.

        xxxx

  26. We are sending lots of love from our family to yours, and are so very sorry for your loss. Nibbles was a beautiful little guy, and will be missed by all.

  27. Aw I’m so sorry to hear about Nibbles! 7 years old is a long life for a piggy and you guys took such great care of him! I know he will be missed, but am glad he opened your heart for more great piggies. RIP sweet Nibbles!

    • Whee are hoping to open our hearts again to give another piggy a home as a friend for Nutty because he is very lonely. Whee will miss him forever and never forget him.

      xxxx

  28. Nibbles life is a distinguished one that mew should be proud of. How wonderful to live a full 7 years! That is quite amazing for a piggie and no one deserved a long life more than Nibbles. His kindness and sweet nature will always be remembered, we send mew our condolences. Purrrr.

  29. I’m so sorry you lost your little pal. It’s so heartbreaking to read this, even if we didn’t know this lovely fellow. We send you lots of hugs and purrs. Bye sweet Nibbles!

  30. Oh, the dear darling boy. So very sorry to hear of Nibbles passing. Big hugs over the ether to all of you xxx

  31. We are so sorry to hear about the loss of Nibbles and we’re sending you {{huggies}} your way to comfort you. RIP Nibbles, you will be missed!

  32. So sad. RIP Nibbles. 😦

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  33. I’m so sad for Nibbles and the whole piggie-furmily. He will always have a place in my heart.

  34. I just wanted to let you know how sorry I am about Nibbles. Thinking of you.

  35. We are so sorry to hear that sweet Nibbles has gone to The Bridge. What a beautiful memorial post for your sweet Nibbles. We will go see if we can light a candle. Leaving you lots of warm hugs

  36. Big furry hugs from us and human hugs xxx

  37. Sammy told me about your sweet Nibbles. I am sorry for your loss. Big hugs.I lit a candle for Nibbles.
    Sue B

  38. Dear Nutty, Basil, Buddy & your Humans: Please accept my sincere sympathy on Nibbles sudden illness & dash to the bridge!!! I am very sorry to read this & am crying as I type….may your memories of nibbles be a comfort to you!!! sounds like he established your love of G-Pigs in your hearts so Nibbles will live on in spirit forever!!!!
    ((HUGS)) & wee strokes to the G-Pigs from Sherri-Ellen ❀

    • Thank you so much and sorry for making you cry. Nibbles always hated tears. It confused him when the little hoomans cried or when someone was sad. He loved to cuddle up to their faces to comfort them in his special way.

      Whee appreciate your kind words

      xxxx

      • There is something about his we face that just made me cry….I will try not to cry for Nibbles sake but it won’t be easy!!! I am sorry for your loss of such a darling….((HUGS)) & cuddles to all of you. Sherri-Ellen xo

  39. So sad to hear about you losing your beautiful little Nibbles..we saw on Sammys post and we have always enjoyed your comments..piggies are adorable little treasures and such wonderful personalities and as such I know you must be shattered.
    Sending all our hugs and sorries 😦
    Fozziemum and gang (((hugs)))

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. Whee miss him terribly right now but whee are so grateful for the wonderful years whee spent with him. He was such a special little angel and now whee know he is watching over all of blogville and whee bet he is super happy to know how much efurryone loved him.

      xxxx

  40. I’m so sorry for your loss! We will miss nibbles! Xx

  41. So sorry for your loss. Nibbles will be missed.

  42. I’m so sorry for you all and for poor little Nibbles, though I hope by now he is having a wonderful time with his pals over the rainbow bridge. The Help hasn’t been well for a couple of days which is why we haven’t go to your post sooner.
    Thinking of you. It won’t be the same without Nibbles, and I’m sure Nutty is lost and confused as I was when Zac left me. I hope he can find another pal who won’t be the same as Nibbles but who can keep him company and help him when he’s lonely, like Raffles is to me.

  43. The candles are a beautiful idea.

  44. I’m very sorry. Nibbles was such a handsome and special boy, and he had so much love and happiness in your home.

  45. I am so sorry for your loss, and am off now to light a candle! Sending you all a big hug

  46. Me and Nellie are very sad to be told of your loss. Our thoughts are with you at this sad time. Nibbles was a wonderful little boy and We are sure he will be missed in your lives. Love Nellie and Jasper.

  47. I am so sorry, that’s very sad news. I know you’ll miss Nibbles. You have special memories to treasure.

  48. P.S. I’ve lit a candle, they are lovely.

  49. I have light a candle for him I am so sorry for your loss. – KA

  50. Oh my word, I am so terribly sorry and devastated for you. It’s impossible to believe. Such a truly difficult time and I wish you strength. I’m right here thinking and praying for you. I popped over to light a candle but it feels like such a small thing to do. I truly wish there was more I could do to help you.

  51. RIP dear Nibbles. And big hugs to you all!

  52. Oh no so sorry 😦 play well at Rainbow Bridge Nibbles!!

  53. hello hutchsters its dennis the vizsla dog hay i am sorry i am so layt to say gudbye to nibbles!!! i no he enjoyd his time in the hutch with all his frends and is having fun romping on the other side of the rainbo bridj!!! ok bye

Squeak to us!!!

