Room In Your Heart – Rudolph The Red Eyed Piggy Campaign

Well whee just cannot bear it. Apparently there will be lots of pink eyed animals in rescue’s and shelters over Pigmass because they ‘scare’ people. Well whee have news from Rudolph which may change things a bit . . .

Hello, there little hoomans,
It is Rudolph here,
There was word on the sleigh,
Today, that I was shocked to hear.
People having a problem,
With body parts coloured like rubies,
Well listen to me out there,
I’ve got news for you newbies.
Santa Paws would get nowhere,
If it weren’t for MY nose,
It is bright ruby red,
And some say it glows.
Now what’s wrong with scarlet,
Or a soft burgundy,
Come on try to explain it,
You can’t? Oh well, I see.
What’s creepy about them?
What made you shy away?
Because honestly I don’t get,
Why hoomans judge animals this way.
I could say “Eugh you’ve got blue eyes,
Or horrid brown hair,
And I don’t like YOUR nose”,
But I don’t cos’ I don’t care.
It’s what’s on the inside,
Look past what you see,
And accept them for what they are,
Or answer to me!

Yours
Rudolph
x

Well our first Rudolph’s come from Glynneath Guinea Pig Rescue.

This gorgeous pair of brothers have been at the rescue awhile . . . why? Because of their pretty pink eyesΒ 

image

A little fella we don’t know much about but he is on the boar daters (a special system where you can pair up your lonely boar with a new friend) . Apparently he is quite shy and Daddy to the two above:

image

So if you are adopting, think pink this Pigmass.

Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
xxxx

Ps. Please raise awareness of pink eyed pets plights in anyway you can.

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Yeah, I agree. We did that in October and Kaci has a LOT of pink in her. A really reputable rescue organization will not do adoptions right before Christmas unless the adoptor is really known and solid. Too many animals are “adopted” and gifted to (being polite here) “idiots”. I was adopted on Dec 21 by my peeps and I’m a super lucky one-They always intended to keep me and They did-it will be 10 years next week. Sometimes the scariest pink thing is a hooman.

    • Exactly. Whee don’t understand why hoomans cannot wait until a little after Pigmass and then they would have lots of poor abandoned pets to chose from.

      It just upsets us that pink eyed piggies are overlooked for something they cannot help.

      xxxx

  2. My daughter would love a pink eyed pet! Good of you to point out, as always, and wonderful poem!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  3. Lovely poem with a very special point.

  4. Brilliant poem guys and for such a great cause. I hate that people judge by looks and that there are so many silly superstitions around. Thanks for promoting the rescue animals. Big hugs and kisses.

    • Hehe. Thank you for reading it! Buddy has very dark red eyed and Basil has purpley red eyes so this is something close to our hearts that upset us when whee heard a few mean hoomans on a guinea pig forum saying red eyed piggies were ugly!

      xxxx

  5. Great poem and we like Think Pink. Have a super Saturday.
    Best wishes Molly

  6. When looking for the third musketeer hamster companion, I rang everywhere because I wanted a pink eyed ham! My first ham was an albino and was so special to me! After 10 phone calls I couldnt find one, apparently in this arae they are so undesired that people dont breed them anymore. I am gutted!!! :(( xxx

  7. Very good poem! think pink is a super motto!!!!

  8. Having Pink, means youz special πŸ™‚ If I had room, I would adopt one but Mollie would think it was a toy and want to play all the time. Glad you liked your card πŸ™‚ xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  9. Pretty poem, Piggies πŸ™‚ and a beautiful way to pass on the message of rescuing!

  10. us pink eye bunnies have the same problem too,but those piggies are cute

  11. Beautiful! The piggies and the bunnies thank you!

  12. Those pink aren’t scary at all! They are super cute. I hope they find homes soon

  13. Aawe, that’s adorable!

Squeak to us!!!

