Vampire Piggy?!

Well whee asked you to come up with captions and as usual you didn’t disappoint! All the ideas were great and whee had a tough time deciding but whee eventually went with this one, simply for it’s relevances to todays happenings. The winning caption was by Zena.

‘It’s not a vampire is it? Please tell me they haven’t moved me into a duplex next to a vampire!’

Well you may wonder why this is relevant. Today Basil has been a very naughty piggy. He does however have reason to be. While having cuddles today the little hoomans noticed he was more fidgety than usual and kept nipping. As soon as Mummy got in she did her usual checks and discovered he has hay mites. Hay mites are very common in piggies and are easily dealt with. This is Basil’s first time having them but quick treatment stamps out any further issues. Basil has been treated and after glaring and itching for an hour or so he has forgiven Mummy and written an apology letter to Mummy’s Dad, our Grampa hooman, who he bit very hard when he was itchy.

I also feel Basil should write an apology to me, seeing as I was also subjected to treatment simply because I share a cage with him, but I won’t hold my breath!

Buddy
xxxx

image

Dear Grampa Hooman,

I’m writing to say sowwwheeee for being a naughty ‘toofy terrorist’, ‘bad biting bandit’ and various other names you shouted as you clutched your thumb after I had had my wicked way with it.

I never intended permanant damage and I understand you regained movement in the thumb seconds later and are expected to make a full recovery.

I was under a lot of stress and discomfort at the time not that it makes my actions acceptable.

Once again I apologise for being a ‘bloody vampire guinea pig’ and hope you can forgive me.

Kind Regards
Basil (the apologetic)
xxxx

Ps. Whee know this is a bit of an odd post but here is a poem Mummy wrote inspired by todays events.

My guinea pig is a vampire,
His fang are sharp and strong,
They sink easily into soft flesh,
And it’s victims don’t last long.
He doesn’t sparkle in the sun,
Nor does it burn his head,
But rather makes him happier,
Vitamin D is good for him instead.
Garlic doesn’t phase him,
Though his whiskers don’t half twitch,
He is not a famous movie star,
Or fabulously wealthy and rich.
A stake might be dangerous,
Unless it’s a willow twig,
He will quite happily munch that,
What?! He’s still a guinea pig!
Yes my guinea pig is a vampire,
At 11 o’clock you should beware,
If you are near the fridge or fruit bowl,
You just might find him there,
He is Buddy the veggie slayer,
Watch out carrots and celery,
I’ve seen him destroy his victims,
I’m just glad that veggie isn’t me!

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Hope you get rid of your mites soon! I know they can be so itchy and annoying!

  2. Hay mites! Whoa! I’m sorry you both needed treatments. I get flea medicine every month, just in case of fleas. I hope you and your grandpa are better soon. Thank goodness your mummy is so piggie smart to see the problem right away. Feel better. xoxo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. Is that something like fleas? I don’t know-but They keep giving me “heartworm meds” every month. For crying out loud, They should know by now that I am heartless.

    • Heartworms?! Woah. Those sound strange! Yes mites are sort of like fleas but not quite as bad. Then aren’t harmful unless left for a long time and are just very uncomfortable.

      Basil
      xxxx

  4. hehe piggie vampires.. that sounds like the makings of a good halloween story. =^..^=

  5. Oh no, we know about mites and have been lucky to avoid them. Good luck and get better soon!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  6. Hope the mites are sorted soon and everything is back to normal. Love your little poem. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  7. Love the poem – the veggie slayer!

  8. I hope this darned mites will leave your castle immediately. The veggie slayer poem is wonderful – you deserves the pawlitzer prize!!!

  9. I’ve never heard of hay mites. Do they really come from the hay? What should I be looking for in the hay? Hope all the hay mite troubles pass soon!

    • Occasionally you get a bad batch and they come in the hay. Usually there are small black flecks in the piggies fur. Like dandruff but other times there is no sign and the piggy is just itching a lot.

      A vet trip sorts it out.

      xxxx

  10. Well no wonder Basil was a bit grumpy – can’t be fun itching all the time and I’m ever so sure that his Grampa was happy to have the apology letter and has forgiven Bad Baby Basil for his indiscretion in biting his finger! We loved Zena’s “vampire” caption for the photo – so glad she won!! Your Mum’s poem was MOST fabulous too……..even if we all know Basil certainly is not a bloodthirsty vampire piggy. 😀

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  11. Oh! being itchy is awfuls! We visited the wet coast once and me gots fleas! Yes me! And me was ‘lergic and me was awful and bited too! Me also hated the flea treatment.
    Lets hope Basil feels better soon and no more biting.
    Kisses
    Nellie

  12. Those bl****dy mite’s..Hope you get rid of them soon Basil, they’z not nice poppet 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  13. Poor Basil… it wasn’t his fault! Itchiness can make you very grumpy 😦

  14. Hope you are mite-free soon Basil!

  15. Oh no, mites. 😦 Hope you;ll get rid of it asap!

  16. Glad Basil was soon back to his old self, sounds horrid and has made me feel all itchy just reading about it!

Squeak to us!!!

