My Precious One . . . .

Today whee are going to post something sad.

In a few days (On the 7th November) it will be Buddy’s first birthday. (Or as near as whee can guess and the date the hoomans picked)

Anyway, while this is a happy time it is also tinged with sadness. Sadness for Bingo, Buddy brother and first companion who some of you may remember, who died only nine months old and never reached his first birthday.

Mummy wrote a poem inspired partly by a post on a forum whee visit and partly on her feelings for Bingo. It is called ‘Today I saw a Rainbow Bridge’. Whee hope you like it.

Today I saw a rainbow bridge,
‘A smilin’ down on me,
And you popcorning along it,
Finally happy and pain free.
Yes today I saw the pathway,
That took you to heavens door,
And I knew that you were at peace,
And I should grieve no more.
That staircase to the angels,
That I prayed you’d never climb,
Has faded now to blue sky,
Letting me know it was time.
But now whenever it rains,
And the sunshine doesn’t go,
I’ll see those multi colours,
And think of you, I know.

Now whee will leave you with a song that makes Mummy’s heart ache. It is one she often sings to us as a lullaby and one she sang to Bingo as he was put to sleep.

Have you lost anyone special recently? Or even long ago? Do these days ever get any easier?

Your Sorrowfully
Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & (even though he never knew him) Basil
xxxx

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on November 4, 2012, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. what a wonderful warm song for such a good little piggy, I luvd Bingo too and remember him well when you guys first came on blogging. He was always wanting to “be good” and he was, paw pats, Savannah and Mom

  2. It is so sad when our pals die and when they die so young it is even harder.
    When you are feeling a little better hop over to my blog where I have left you a little present πŸ™‚

  3. that was beautiful. Mom often tells me about my grandpa Bobo…he was her “soul kitty”….yes she loves me but Grandpa Bobo was her first cat as an adult and he was special in a different way than I am.
    He passed at age 18 back in 2007……Mom said she can still cry about it as hard today as she did back then.
    Love, Cody

  4. Oh! my eyes gots all leaky reading about Bingo and the poem. In a couple of weeks, it will be 2 years since my best friend – Licorice went over the bridge! Mes Thoughts about him when me readed the poem.
    Kisses
    Nellie

  5. My grandma once told me that when we lose loved ones in body, they will still always be with us in spirit, like our guardian angels. That has always been a comforting thought to me since losing Hopper, and then my grandpa 4 months later. I also credit blogging and the cyber friends that I have met from blogging for helping me work through such a personal loss.
    Both the song and your mummy’s poem touched my heart deeply.

    • Blogging has also helped Mummy. In times of sadness she can look back and read about his michief and adventures and gain comfort from them. And of course our great furfriends of the blogosphere get us though good time and bad. Sharing tears and laughter. Whee are truly blessed.

      Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
      xxxx

  6. I’ve known your sadness. Sorry to hear about your sweet little Bingo. Hugs 2U

  7. Dude, I can’t play any of your videos… It makes me sad. :<( – A

  8. Very moving and beautiful poem.
    Lots of purrs

  9. My heart aches for you. So sorry you had to lose Bingo. That is a beautiful poem and brought tears to my eyes. Any of us that have lost a truly special pet understand exactly what you are going through.

  10. What a lovely Tribute to little Bingo.. It’s always so hard losing loved ones..Speaking with tears in the eye’s. xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  11. Lovely poem xx
    I think over time it gets easier – not that you forget but I think you adjust to them not being around, if that makes sense.

  12. We’re so sad when we lose a friend – it leaves a big hole in our hearts…..but knowing they wouldn’t want us to grieve forever helps fill the hole with love again – and knnowing that the Rainbow Bridge is a happy place helps too! Your Mummy’s poem is lovely and a dear tribute to Bingo. Bingo is still with ALL of you every minute of every day. His spirit lives on in the family he left behind. Bingo wants you all to carry on and enjoy your lives FOR him.

    Kitty Hugs and love, Sammy (and his Mom)

  13. Cry. Sob. Cry. I lost my Wheaky 48 hours ago. Sob. Sob. Sob. I’m hoping it will get easier in a few weeks. On my blog I made a Memorial permanent page for him along with a slideshow of his pictures with my favorite song which reminds me of him.I can say with all honestly that he probably saved my life a few times because I get depressed very easily. Whenever I was feeling super down I would hold him on my bed and all the pain would go away.

  14. I’ve heard your song and I’ve been thinking about you and Bingo. It’s so hard to lose a friend, but I think our friends deserve it that we are sad while thinking of them. Think that’s a kind of love and we show them, that they aren’t forgotten .

  15. So sad…but a beautiful poem and lovely song πŸ™‚ I still howl in the loneliness of the Europan night for the loss of two of my kind…even though the pain seems to lessen over time as the good memories come more to the forefront, on the anniversary dates the heart breaks all over again…howls and hugs…Wolfie πŸ™‚

    • Aww. Thank you. Whee are sorry for the loss of your packmates. Somehow it hurts that he never got the chance to reach this anniversary. Our feelings towards the day are bittersweet.

      Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
      xxxx

      • It’s always worse when they’re so young. My packmates were into their senior years and had had a good, long life behind them by that time but it still broke my heart to say goodbye. A little cat I used to know had her time cut short at 9 months and that felt horrible, she was just starting to discover what a joy cat life could be too. It seems so unfair when they’re so young when it happens doesn’t it…but you know little piggies – our precious ones know we miss them terribly and sometimes when the spirit wind is blowing gently in the reflections of our pain, we can feel their presence there with us whispering softly in our hearts and somehow they are back with us for a short but infinitely special time that we never forget, reminding us that they are only a heartbeat away xxxx

  16. Hi there, came to say hello and then I found this post. I remember Bingo. Or at least I think I remember…. I’m getting old….

    It’s always sad to see one of our siblings go 😦

    Purrrrrrs

  17. mistletoeandhitch

    I didn’t know Bingo, but you loved him so he must have been very special. I heard a speech not to long ago and the speaker was talking about loosing loved ones. He said, you never get over it, but one day you realize that the thought of the one that passed brings a smile to your lips before a tear to your eye. I felt truth in that. When I remember my Brady I smile because he was a good dog and we shared a very special time together. I will miss him until we meet again, but I can smile when I think of him, even if it’s through my tears. I hope you are able to smile through your tears of sadness for Bingo and that someday soon, the smile will come first.

  18. It never gets easier, but you will learn how to life with it.
    I lost a cat a long, long time ago. I grew up with that cuddle-buddy. 😦 And last year my parents’ dog passed away. She was pretty much a member to the family, and is still missed.

    Sorry to hear about Bingo. I’m sure he had a great life those nine months. And will never be forgotten.

  19. I feel your pain so much. It’s a beautiful poem that has touched my heart and brought tears to my eyes. I didn’t know he was so young. RIP Bingo with much love from Snuggles. Peaches, Daisy, Cinnamon and mum. xxxxxxxx

    • Glad you like the poem. He was very young. And practically sick from the moment he joined the family. First a fungal infection, then an ear infection which progressed to seizures and the destruction of his ear drum and then his stroke. But he never bit anyone nastily. He was such a sweetheart.

      xxxx

      • Thanks for sharing that. I wasn’t sue what he finally died of and didn’t like to ask. Such a sweetheart. So glad you were his mummy, otherwise he may not have had as long a life as he did, as you never gave up on him and that is lovely.Sending you wheeks of love and pawry hugs Snuggles, Peaches, Daisy, Cinnamon and mummy xxxxx

Squeak to us!!!

