A Chill In The Air, And Mummy Won’t Be Fair!

Me before I realised the terribleness of my situation and just how furry cold it was!

Today has been horrific. There is no other way of putting it. As Autumn has come, so has cooler weather. Mummy believes whee need exercise so insists all of us go on the garden as often as possible. Including today. Of course, I protested, but there’s no telling some hoomans when they get an idea into their head. She plonked us in our runs with only a fleece blanket and a pile of grass each.

Of course, while I was recovering from the shock, I devoured the grass. But when I had finished I pleaded with Mummy to take us in. Squeaking pitifully and calling to her. She kept pointing to the fleece blanket which was strangely warm and contained a sort of pet safe heat pad. Rather nice on an elderly lad’s chilly tootsies!

However, on principal, I glared and complained until whee were brought in. Now I am snuggled up in my lovely hay in my lovely heated house. The way it should be!

Do you mind cold weather? What do you do to stay warm? And how on Earth can I make Mummy listen to me next time (trust me, with her behaviour, there is sure to be a next time!)?!

Nibbles
xxxx

PS. Don’t forget our Pigoween themed pet photo contest, skip back a post to read all about it!

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on October 7, 2012, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. Aw, Nibbles. I’m so sorry you had to endure the chilliness outside. I’m a completely inside kitty (now), so I don’t have to worry about that. Enjoy the coziness of inside!
    Love, Sundae

  2. Mom makes me wear a sweater. Or a jacket. Or a hoodie. Or a parka. Admittedly, I look adorable, but it’s embarrassing! Soldier up and enjoy your fleece and heat pad, Nibbles. It could be worse.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. You and I should go thru Easy’s book of revenge together! Both our mums need to learn a lesson.
    xxoo
    Miss D

  4. You know what would cure you forever? Surviving a good old-fashioned Canadian winter. You’d find your heating-pad autumn run refreshing beyond belief! πŸ™‚

  5. We live in a place that is cold most of the year and we love it! Doesn’t it feel good to have a warm bottom on the heating pad, and feeling a cool breeze across your nose? To us, it beats overheating. Good luck managing your mommy!

    • But it is so cold. *shivers* The heat pad was a nice touch though.

      So you enjoy the cold?

      Nibbles
      xxxx

      • Our whole family likes the cold. We do not have the sensitive constitution that the pigsters have. Snow two days ago here, but sunny today. You’d like our weather today. It may be cold here a lot, but it’s sunny the majority of the time. I hope you adjust to your mommy’s new job. It might be lonely for you guys without her, so much of your day.

      • Snow?! πŸ™‚ Wowee. Sound chilly! Luckily whee have Mummy’s Mummy home all the time and the little hoomans come back from school and play with us so whee won’t miss Mummy too much! Unless veggies are running late”

        Nibbles
        xxxx

  6. Mean Mommy, it’s great you have a heated pad though..How cools that ? πŸ™‚ xxooxx

  7. Oh Nibbles my darling piggie, we keep our piggie, Wheaky, warm by placing an electric heating pad underneath his cage. The heating pad has a regulator on it so it never goes above a certain temperature. (We don’t want to burn the precious toes of our beloved piggie.) Stay warm Nibbles my dear fellow!

    • The heat pad is very nice and tucked under the fleece so I don’t get burnt! But thank you! I’ve just been complaining on principal!

      I hope Wheaky is nice and cosy too!

      Nibbles
      xxxx

  8. I think it’s swell that you have a heating pad to keep you warmish through the cold days ahead. Mom keeps saying she’s going to get me a heated kitty bed but so far I’ve not see it materialize – maybe Santa Paws will bring one. In the meantime, I’m sure you boys dont’ want to have to wear little mini-sweaters, so best not complain when Mummy plonks you down outside for a run in the cold – – – just hop around a lot and keep the circulation going!! Otherwise you’ll turn into the piggie version of icicles…..PIGCICLES!!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • Oh no. Whee don’t want to be piggicicles! Mummy makes us big sock jumpers and gives us snuggly fleece blankets to stay warm sometimes. Those jumpers are embarrassing so I won’t complain about the cold too much!

      Whee think you should beg for a heated bed! Just hope they don’t get any jumpers for you too! πŸ˜‰

      Nibbles
      xxxx

  9. I do love when the fire goes on! I get at close to it as I can without being shouted at!!

  10. I think you mummy should give you some extra hugs and a some piggie treats… wish I had such a heated pad too, sounds very interesting :o)

  11. I like it nice and cool – not looking forward to the heating going on at all!

  12. It is getting cold here too…
    Stay warm!
    Purrs

  13. I personally don’t mind cold weather at all! But my cats aren’t really a fan of the cold weather. 😦

  14. I don’t mind cold weather at all because I have such a luxurious fur coat

  15. Nibbles you had a heat pad! No cause for complaint there! lol πŸ˜‰ You wouldn’t like it on Europa…it is well below freezing there and everything is icy…unless you dig through the ice several kilometres to the sub surface ocean is πŸ™‚ You’d definitely need your thermals there!! πŸ™‚

  16. princessandariel

    Reblogged this on princess and ariel and commented:
    i love the photo, and the way you write ” guinea pig slang “

  17. How darn cute are you Nibbles, Just came by via Jaspers Doggy World. I think the fresh air is lovely for a bit, but I wish it was summer all the time. I’ll have to get my mittens and boots out soon since I live in Canada and ugg, we get lots of snow.

    • Hello! Whee love making new friends! I love Summer because whee can go outside on the grass almost every day. Not sure whee can go out much more now.

      Nibbles
      xxxx

  18. princess guinea and ariel

    i re-blogged this post to my website, and my friend fell in love with the photo!

  1. Pingback: Fancy dressed maremmas | jaspersdoggyworld

Squeak to us!!!

