Learning Our Lingo!

Hello everyone, long time no see! I have been a little under the weather for a few days but Mummy is taking good care of me and creating a mixture I call ‘Piggy Mush’. It tastes quite nice and Mummy gives it to me when I’m out in the mornings and evenings. Already I am perking up and putting on weight. Though, as I am an old chappy, I’m still a little slowed off.

Anyway. To the point of my post. Ok so I don’t expect you to be able to squeak like whee do but I would like to teach some of our language to you. I will do it in small stages. The first squeak I want to tell you about is the ‘feed me!’ squeak. It is usefully deployed around the time vegetables are due and accompanied by bar chew, and attempts to climb out of the cage. It can also be used effectively when hay is due to arrive or even just for a bit of attention.

It sounds really loud and quite drawn out. Sort of like – ‘WHEEEEE’ Then as you get more indignant ‘WHEE WHEE WHEEEEEEE!’

Here a video of Nutty demonstrating such a squeak while Mummy taps on the treat bowl (Hope it works as this is the first time I have tried putting uo a video!) :

Nutty Squeaks Up

Sir Nibbles
xxxx

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Let me tell you something, that’s the cutest thing I’ve heard and seen so far.
    Get better soon.

  2. Sir Nibbles, we all hope you are feeling better soon! *Wheeks* from Miss Sakura. šŸ™‚
    ps: Nutty’s video is charming, and very educational.

    • I am feeling much better now. Mummy is pleased because I am eating on my own today when I had actually stopped for a day or two. I think whee will try to make some more educational videos. Glad you like them.

      Nibbles
      xxxx

  3. Purrfect! First video posted and ya did great! Stop by my Monday post to pick up your Award(s), not sure if ya already have one of ’em. Concatulations!

  4. The video was great it really helped the ratties and myself learn!

  5. I love that video! I wish I could make those sounds. When I’m hungry, I stare and stare till Mom can’t stand it. Enjoy your mush, Nibbles. Feel better soon.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Whee try staring but Mummy doesn’t pay attention. She can always leave the room and ignore staring. But with this squeaking she has no chance. Whee can make it so loud you can hear it all over the house!

      I ate up all of y mush this morning. Mummy mixed in strawberries, mint leaves and parsley to tempt me and it worked. I even ate on my own for a little while today so I am improving.

      Nibbles
      xxxx

  6. Great video. It is nice to see you in action. What unique sounds you make!
    Bella and DiDi

  7. I hope you’re fully recovered soon.

    • Thanks Clowie. I am improving slowly. I even ate on my own today.
      I bet the noises whee make are really different to yours! šŸ˜‰

      Nibbles
      xxxx

      • I’m glad you’re improving. One of my cats was really interested in the computer when I was playing your video, he wondered what the noise was!

  8. Oh Nibbles I’m so sorry you’ve been feeling icky but that mush stuff sounded quite delicious! But the most INTERESTING thing was hearing Nutty’s squeakies!! WOW!! Who knew??!! No way could your Mum ignore THAT. You guys are so adorable who could possibly ignore you anyway……I’m so glad you’re feeling better.

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • Thank you, I am feeling much better. Mummy is feeding me outside of the cage so that she can make sure I eat. I’m not complaining as she gives me my favourite things to tempt me. Mmmmm strawberries, mint and parsley. šŸ™‚

      Nutty has a very impressive squeak but Buddy is the noisiest. Unfortunately Buddy gets so overexcited he runs into things and goes a little bit nuts so Mummy cannot get a good film of him.

      Whee will try to get some more videos of other behaviours to show you more about us cute cavies!

      Nibbles
      xxxx

Squeak to us!!!

