Sweetcorn & Squabbles!

Today Mummy gave us all a special treat. Whee are not sure why, as there is nothing particularly special about today. Bingo thinks that today’s treat was one Mummy meant to give to us yesterday but lost it or forgot it. Mummy insists that is nonsense and that she doesn’t need an excuse to give us treats.

Although I am inclined to believe Bingo’s suggestion, I do know where my noms comes from. I think this relates to the saying “Don’t bite the hand that feeds you” – which incidently Bingo is much better at not doing so – but is rather “Don’t disagree with the hooman that feeds you”.

Anyway, I suppose you must be wondering what the treat was. I can tell you that there is nothing better on a rainy day with only occassional sunshine, than a delicious sun rippened and dried sweetcorn on the cob! Here are some pigtures of me and Bingo enjoying ours!

Well whee are quite good at sharing but I can tell you that Nibbles and Nutty had a bit of a squabble. Mummy got quite cross at all the noise they made rumbling and squeaking, particually because she had only gone out of the room to cut open another packet so they could have one each. She muttered something crossly about boars being bothersome but I don’t think she means it! πŸ˜‰

Well I had better get back to the cage before Bingo eats all of my share of the corn as well as his own! Does anyone else have a favourite treat which they are only allowed occassionally?

Buddy
xxxx

About hutchagoodlife

Tales and adventures from the hutches of British blogging guinea pigs!

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Piggy Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. How lucky to get treats ‘just because’. Your mummy obviously love love loves you πŸ™‚
    My ratties go bonkers for fresh corn and sometimes get so excited they nearly take my finger off as I give it to them!
    But their favourite treats at the moment are pepitas / sunflower seeds. They can’t have too many but gee they love them! Squirrel also enjoys drinking tea and that is only a sometimes drink.

  2. I am lactose intolerant but sometimes I cheat and enjoy an ice cream treat now and then. Mmmmmmm…..

  3. Looks like a nice treat! Cute pics!!

  4. Hi Buddy! Gosh you look like you’re really enjoying that sweetcorn treat! I suspect you’re right – your Mom MEANT to give it to you as part of the Jubilee celebration or the 6-month birthday celebration but FORGOT. Oh well…at least you got it eventually. As for me, I have two treats that I’m NOT supposed to have but manage to get once in a while…..a tiny bit of butter (yum) is one thing and the other is some licks off Mom’s pomegranate popsicles she often has in the evening (double yum). πŸ˜€

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  5. You’re all so adorable, I’m not at all surprised that Mom would give you treats for no reason! I used to do the same for my guinea pigs too. We had 3 of them: they were named Cinnamon, Bessie, and Oreo. We’re glad to find another GP lover! πŸ™‚

  6. at least you get broccoli once in awhile…my mom won’t let us have broccoli at all (or anything in the cabbage family) because it causes gas. she said she lost a pig to bloat once and isn’t taking any chances. well…don’t i get a say in what chances i want to take?! at least she let’s us have a rare treat of dandelion greens once in awhile. none of us get sludge so she doesn’t worry about too much calcium on occasion. that is my favorite rare treat – dandelion greens!! but we love fresh corn too…yum!! especially the husks and silks, which she cuts up in bite-sized pieces…so yummy!!

    • Our Mummy says brocoli is a treat for Nibbles and he only gets a small amounts because he is a greedy guts who is feeling his age! He is only allowed tiny amounts of the first rich spring grass because he had some tummy troubles! πŸ˜‰

      Buddy
      xxxx

  7. Gotta love sweet corn.
    Doggy has never had any kind of human food, well, I five him apples and strawberries every now and then, but he seems to go crazy over sour oranges.

  8. I guess Nibbles figured that seeing as how he is the oldest….he deserved to eat most of that corn MOL. Glad to hear you and Binga shared better…Dad hangs a dry corn on the cob out every morning for our squirrels…even the blue jays like it

  9. Hello you lovely little piggies, I have a surprise for you! Please check out: http://wp.me/p2h87n-6b
    Doggy kisses xx

    • Oh boy! Whee must be the luckiest piggies in the whole world to have friends like you! This is so exciting! Whee can hardly contain ourselves! Thankies! πŸ˜‰

      xxxx

  10. You look happy piggies with that corn on the cob. My treat is cream cheese….mmmmmm…

  11. This looks like yummy fun!
    Bella and DiDi

Squeak to us!!!

